Harry McNulty named as captain of experienced Ireland Rugby Sevens squad for Dubai series

2 months ago 10

Harry McNulty will captain the Ireland Men’s Sevens in Dubai this weekend, with head coach James Topping naming an experienced 14-player squad for the first of eight tournaments across the 2024 Series.

McNulty has taken over the captaincy from fellow Sevens veteran Billy Dardis, who remains a key part of the squad.

2022 World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year, Terry Kennedy, is in line for his return to Series action after taking time out last year, as Ireland go head-to-head with Argentina, Australia and Spain in Pool B.

Meanwhile, Ireland Women begin their countdown to Paris 2024 in Pool B alongside Australia, Japan and Brazil.

Head Coach Allan Temple-Jones has selected a strong 13-player panel ahead of Saturday’s campaign opener against Japan, with Lucy Mulhall set to lead the side.

Former Meath and AFL footballer Vicky Wall has not been included after making the switch to rugby.

Ireland Men’s Sevens

Niall Comerford (UCD RFC)

Jordan Conroy (Buccaneers RFC)

Sean Cribbin (Suttonians RFC)

Billy Dardis (Terenure College RFC)

Shane Jennings (Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)

Jack Kelly (Dublin University FC)

Terry Kennedy (St Mary’s College RFC)

Hugo Lennox (Skerries RFC)

Harry McNulty (UCD RFC)(captain)

Gavin Mullin (UCD RFC)

Chay Mullins (Galway Corinthians RFC/Connacht/IQ Rugby)

Mark Roche (Lansdowne FC)

Zac Ward (Ballynahinch RFC).

Ireland Women’s Sevens

Natasja Behan (Blackrock College RFC)

Megan Burns (Blackrock College RFC)

Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (Railway Union RFC)

Stacey Flood (Railway Union RFC)

Katie Heffernan (Railway Union RFC)

Eve Higgins (Railway Union RFC)

Erin King (Old Belvedere RFC)

Vicky Elmes Kinlan (Wicklow RFC)

Emily Lane (Blackrock College RFC)

Kate Farrell McCabe (Suttonians RFC)

Lucy Mulhall (Wicklow RFC)(captain)

Béibhinn Parsons (Blackrock College RFC)

Aoibheann Reilly (Blackrock College RFC)

Ireland Fixtures – HSBC SVNS Series, Dubai:

Saturday December 2

Ireland Women v Japan, 9.22am local time/5.22am Irish time

Ireland Men v Australia, 10.28am local time/6.28am Irish time

Ireland Women v Brazil, 11.59am local time/7.59am Irish time

Ireland Men v Spain, 2.14pm local time/10.14am Irish time

Ireland Women v Australia, 4.51pm local time/12.51pm Irish time

Ireland Men v Argentina, 8.22pm local time/4.22pm Irish time

Sunday December 3

Play-off matches

Read Entire Article